ABOUT

Meet Our Fantastic Team

ABOUT

Meet Our Fantastic Team

LEARN MORE

It’s a Family Thing

Our wonderful story

Alice Charity was created in 2011 to support vulnerable and disadvantaged families across Stoke- on-Trent and Newcastle-Under-Lyme by providing various services underpinned by unconditional love and kindness. Through a Clayton based baby and toddler group, the first-ever Big Cup group, we could locate families in the area who required emotional support and help with essential items.

The demand for Alice’s services began to grow as word spread. The impact of austerity hit the most vulnerable families, which led to the opening of our first office at Silverdale Enterprise Centre in 2013 before moving to our next home on Queens Parade, Newcastle, in 2016 and then buying our own premises, The Assembly Rooms in Merrial Street in 2021.  

Today, Alice continues to work across all communities within Stoke and Newcastle supporting families in their homes and their communities, providing emotional and practical support, for as long as it’s needed, encouraging and empowering local people to not only volunteer but to also embrace other opportunities in employment and education. By providing this support, Alice charity is increasing aspirations and skills that will positively influence and impact families and their community. In 2021 Alice charity was able to help and support more than 3,500 families across Stoke and Newcastle on their journey to a brighter future.

Meet The Team

Heather Sheldon
Chief Executive Officer

heather.sheldon@alicecharity.org

Hayley Maydew
Finance Assistant

hamley.maydew@alicecharity.org

Kelly Dunning
Family Support Manager

kelly.dunning@alicecharity.org

Sarah Heath
Operations Manager

sarah.heath@alicecharity.org

Lorna Peters
Family Support Worker

lorna.peters@alicecharity.org

Fakhara Afzal
Family Support Worker 

fakhara.afzal@alicecharity.org

Lisa Hall
Big Cup Worker 

lisa.hall@alicecharity.org

Dawn Austin
Family Support Worker

dawn.austin@alicecharity.org

Donna Bradbury
Family Support Worker

donna.bradbury@alicecharity.org

Deb Steele
Family Support Worker

deb@alicecharity.org

Sarah Sambrooks
People’s Pantry & Charity Shop Supervisor 

sarah.sambrooks@alicecharity.org

Joanne Pope
Office Administrator

joanne.pope@alicecharity.org

Danielle Southall
Early Years Manager

danielle.southall@alicecharity.org

Our Supporters

Alice Charity © 2023 | 01782 614 838

Registered charity number 1148385 | The Assembly Rooms |  Merrial Street | Newcastle-under-Lyme | ST5 2AD

10 + 2 =